The Sweet Smell of Rejection… or is That Flowers?

Image

The last time I was in Georgia, we visited a tea house. I wonder if the East Coast has them too?

I found it strangely poetic to be rejected from my first choice graduate school on Valentine’s Day, a day dedicated to love and warm-fuzzy feelings,. Having only received acceptance letters so far, I opened up Emory University’s e-mail with eager expectation (and large amounts of pride). The e-mail’s cold, curt language was devoid of remorse as it decided we were going different directions in life. Whatever happened to, “it’s not you, it’s me” or “we can still be friends”? Couldn’t it have bought me dinner first, breaking the news between the main course and dessert?

While all visions of me sipping on Sweet Tea and perfecting my southern drawl wilted like the roses sitting on my kitchen table will surely soon do, I am still thankful for the great opportunities I’ve been given so far. I made it into three fine schools and was even blessed enough to receive a scholarship from one of them. Yes, I would have much rather received a message from Emory that began with the word “congratulations”, but clearly, Georgia is not where I am supposed to be.

Rejection, while temporarily unpleasant, makes us stronger in the long run. It starts a fire deep in our soul, pushing us on to prove that we do have what it takes. Who we are as people does not change just because someone accepts us or not.

Ok, pardon me while I step off of my soap box now and put away the violin that was playing a mournful melody. Take a look at these other “rejects” who did not let the word “no” define them:

-12 publishers refused to publish J.K. Rowling before one finally agreed to buy her work, but also advising her to get a day job.

-Legend says that Walt Disney went to over 300 people before he finally received financing for his animation company. This patron still told him that he “lacked imagination”.

-Steven Speilberg dreamed of attending the University of South California’s film school, but was turned down twice. After he had gone on to direct some of the highest-grossing films of all time and became a household name, they offered him an honorary degree.

-OJ Simpson was turned down for the role of the Terminator, purportedly because studio executives did not believe he would be taken seriously as a killer. Oh, the irony.

-Robin Williams was beat out by Heath Ledger for the role of the Joker in “Batman Begins”

-Jesus was rejected by his own people.

-Albert Einstein’s teachers thought he was mentally handicapped.

-Before the Beatles hit it big, many labels refused to sign them, one even famously saying, “The Beatles have no future in show business.”

-Michael Jordan was cut from his high school basketball team.

Many thanks to http://getbusylivingblog.com/famous-people-who-found-success-despite-failures/ for providing many of these examples.

Moral of the story: We’re all rejects in some way. Don’t let it get you down, especially when the sun is shining as brightly as it is today.

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me” 2 Corinthians 12:9

2 responses to “The Sweet Smell of Rejection… or is That Flowers?

    • Yessir! I wrote this at the time when I just assumed that they were going to reject me completely. You know what they say about assuming…

Leave a comment